Teachers touring with Matthieu Chedid -M-

Brad Thomas Ackley et Matthieu Chedid Crédit photo: Rod Maurice

The two teachers of the American School of Modern Music, Brad Thomas Ackley and Guillaume Estace are currently on tour with Lamomali, the Malian project of Matthieu Chedid -M- in most of the french Zeniths and at the Paris Bercy Accord Hotel Arena on december 18 and 19.

Brad on guitar / keyboards and Guillaume Estace in the first act with Lulu Gainsbourg.

LAMOMALI is the result of the complicity between Matthieu Chedid, an accomplished artist rewarded with eight “Victoires de la musique”, and the brilliant and respected Toumani Diabaté, a member of a dynasty who made the kora (a harp with 21 strings and a sound box made up of a calabash) one of the most emblematic African instruments. His eldest son Sidiki, rising star of hip hop (at just 25, he fills stadiums in Mali) also took part in the adventure.

Toumani and Sidiki are respectively the 71st and 72nd generation of a line of kora masters dating back to the Mandingo Empire, at a time where West Africa was united. “My mission has always been to introduce Mandinka music to the rest of the world, and to make people understand that music has no borders,” says Toumani, who, while developing a style rooted in tradition, is always remained open to collaborations. Over the course of his career, the musician has rubbed shoulders with many musical genres and collaborated with artists such as Björk and Damon Albarn. “I do not play the music of others and they do not play mine,” he says. “Whenever we put our music together, we create something new. ”

Guillaume Estace and Lulu Gainsbourg. Picture: Rod Maurice

They are sharing the stage with Fatoumata Diawara, a Malian soul diva (revealed to the general public by the film “Timbuktu”, which won seven awards at the 2015 Césars, including the best French film and the best music), as well as many guests like Oxmo Puccino and Ibrahim Maalouf.

Lulu Gainsbourg et Guillaume Estace Crédit photo: Rod Maurice

Guillaume Estace and Lulu Gainsbourg, Zénith de Caen

 

Guillaume Estace and Lulu Gainsbourg, Rehearsals, Zénith de Toulouse
Brad Thomas Ackley and Matthieu Chedid -M-
Brad Thomas Ackley

Professeurs de l’American School en tournée avec Matthieu Chedid -M-

Brad Thomas Ackley et Matthieu Chedid Crédit photo: Rod Maurice

Les deux professeurs de l’American School of Modern Music, Brad Thomas Ackley et Guillaume Estace sont actuellement en tournée avec Lamomali, le projet Malien de Matthieu Chedid -M- dans la plupart des Zéniths français et le 18 et 19 Décembre à Paris Bercy Accord Hotel Arena.

Brad à la guitare/claviers et Guillaume Estace en premiere partie avec Lulu Gainsbourg.

LAMOMALI est le fruit de la complicité entre Matthieu Chedid, artiste de scène accompli récompensé par huit Victoires de la musique, et le discret mais tout aussi génial et respecté Toumani Diabaté, membre d’une dynastie qui a fait de la kora (une harpe à 21 cordes et une caisse de résonance composée d’une calebasse) l’un des instruments africains les plus emblématiques. Son fils aîné Sidiki, star montante du hip hop (à tout juste 25 ans, il remplit des stades au Mali) a également pris part à l’aventure.

Toumani et Sidiki sont respectivement la 71ème et 72ème génération d’une lignée de maîtres de la kora remontant à l’empire mandingue, à une époque où l’Afrique de l’Ouest était unie. « Ma mission a toujours été de faire découvrir la musique mandingue au reste du monde, et de faire comprendre aux gens que la musique n’a pas de frontières », explique Toumani, qui tout en développant un style ancré dans la tradition, est toujours resté ouvert aux collaborations. Au cours de sa carrière, le musicien s’est ainsi frotté à de nombreux genres musicaux et a collaboré avec des artistes comme Björk et Damon Albarn. « Je ne joue pas la musique des autres, et ils ne jouent pas la mienne », précise-t-il. « A chaque fois que nous mettons nos musiques en commun, nous créons quelque-chose de nouveau. »

Ils sont entourés sur scène de Fatoumata Diawara, diva malienne de la soul (révélée au grand public par le film « Timbuktu », qui a raflé 7 prix aux Césars 2015, dont ceux du meilleur film français et de la meilleure musique) mais aussi par de nombreux invités comme Oxmo Puccino et Ibrahim Maalouf.

Lulu Gainsbourg et Guillaume Estace Crédit photo: Rod Maurice
Guillaume Estace et Lulu Gainsbourg au Zénith de Caen

 

Guillaume Estace et Lulu Gainsbourg, balances au Zénith de Toulouse
Brad Thomas Ackley et Matthieu Chedid
Brad Thomas Ackley